Sri Lankan Cricket Teams

The Cricket Team of Sri Lanka is the National Cricket Team of Sri Lanka. They played the first international cricket during 1926-1927 and they awarded the test status in 1981, which formed Sri Lanka as one of the eight test cricket playing nation. The cricket team reach the goal of success in the starting point of 1990’s which rank to winning the Cricket World Cup in 1996.

Members of Sri Lankan Cricket Team

Some of the current cricket team members, Ajantha Mendis,Akila Dananjaya,Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedara, Chamind Vaas, Dilhara Fernando, Farveez Maharoof, Kumar Sangakkara, Lasith Malinga,Mahela Jayewardene, Tilakaratne Dilshan,Upul Tharanga Etc……

All Time Great Members

Muttiah Muralitharan is one of the great known cricketers. He is also the Spin Bowling part time Coacher. There is no bowler has got more batsmen out other than Muralitharan. His records were 1334 international wickets for the nation including the 800 in test match. Sanath Jayasuriya is the fastest batsmen. He is also an MP in Sri Lanka Parliament.

Today’s known Stars

Mahela Jayewardene is now in the second period of responsibility as a Sri Lankan Captain. He is the greatest ever run scorer in tests. He is said to be the classiest batsmen in the world cricket games. Kumar Sangakkara is a man of great insight and a healthy and self opinion suited to coaching.Lasith Malinga is one of the unconventional speed bowlers to achieve the highest level. He is also known as the Malinga the Slinger.

The history of Sri Lankan Cricket Team

The cricket was first brought to Sri Lanka during the period which the nation was colonized by the British.The documented first class cricket match was played in 1905 which was during the period Sri Lanka was known as Ceylon. During the overall time of 20th century the team grew more popular, this also made the national team to won the ICC Trophy in 1979.The next championship was gain during the 1996 Cricket World Cup by defeating Australia.

Sri Lankan cricket team has reached some of its milestones, the first and almost the ICC Trophy and Cricket World Cup, Sri Lanka being the only nation who participated in all volume of the Asia Cup, Sri Lanka became the fourth nation to attain two consecutive World Cup Finals in 2007 and 2011.The Board for Cricket Control in Sri Lanka (BCCSL) is the ruling body of the Sri Lankan Cricket Team and First –Class Cricket in Sri Lanka. There are about total 8 stadiums in Asgiriya Stadium, Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo Cricket Club Ground, R.Premadasa Stadium, Galle International Stadium, Walagedara Stadium and Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.


The tests match began in the 1982.The first test match was held Sri Lanka vs England at P.Sara Oval in Colombo on 17th – 21st  February 1982 while the last test match is between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo on 16th – 20th march 2013.The Captain of Test and ODI match is Angelo Mathews. The captain of T20 is Dinesh Chandimal.