Sri Lankan History

The history of Sri Lanka began about 30,000 years ago populous. The chronicles, Mahavansa, Deepavamsa and Chulavamsa has record all the events that took place from the dawn of Sinhalese monarchy in 6th century BC, the arrival of Europeans in the 16th century and the breakup of the monarchy in 1815.These events are deeply proved in the Chronicles. Here is the brief report on each outstanding event took place in Sri Lankan History.

Pre-Historic era of Sri Lanka

The Veddahs was the first origin in the Island, who primarily engages as hunters. It is believed that the Sinhalese, who arrived to Sri Lanka from North India in 6th Century B.C, conquered the Veddahs in Sri Lanka. They comprise that the largest ethnic group in Sri Lanka and are the primary settlers in the Island. They named Anuradhapura as their capital, which is been the World’s Chief Buddhists in Sri Lanka.

Around 11th century, the South Indian Tamils attack and encroach Sri Lanka and vanquish Anuradhapura making Polonnaruwa as their capital city. By the 12th century they drove the North Indian Sinhalese kingdom to the southwest part of the Island while establishing their kingdom in the Northern part of the Island. Their by the Tamils became the second largest ethnic group, with 12.6% of population.

European colonization of Sri Lanka

The Portuguese traders who came to the purpose of business to Sri Lanka by the 16th century captured the coastal part and spread their religion Roman Catholic. The Dutch overcame the Portuguese by the mid 17th century and farther the British defeat the Dutch in 1796 and around 1815 they established the Crown Colony of Ceylon.

The British established many reforms, which change the official language of Sri Lanka from Sinhala to English. The British introduce the Plantation Economy System such as Tea, Rubber and Coconut, as well as the system of Schools and Universities. In the early 20th century they formed the Ceylon National Congress. This Ceylon National Congress led the main role to the fulfillment of the Sri Lanka’s Independence.

The Post colonization

Finally Sri Lanka achieved independence on 4th of February 1948.During this period the prime minister was Dr.Stephen Senanayake next his son Dudley Senanayake in 1952.In about 1956 S.W.R.D Bandaranaike became the prime minister, who supported the Sinhalese nationalism and changed the official language from English to Sinhala. After his death in 1959, the widow Sirimavo Bandaranaike who became the ever first female prime minister in the world. The country name was officially changed from Ceylon to Sri Lanka on May 22, 1972.Further a new Republican Constitution was established and a new flag was also created while the capital of Sri Lanka was named as Colombo.


Sri Lankan history consists of many important events, which bought successful endings which is considered as the pride to the nation. Such events can be listed as Pre-Historic of Sri Lanka, The European colonization and the Post colonization. The chronicles, Mahavansa, Deepavamsa and Chulavamsa proves them.